• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Welcome to the Social Science History Association

2017 Conference Schedule



2017 Call for Papers


42nd Annual Meeting of the Social Science History Association

Montreal, Quebec Canada, November 2-5, 2017

Changing Social Connections in Time and Space

SSHA President for 2016-17

Alice Bee Kasakoff, Geography, University of  South Carolina, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Program Committee Co-Chairs for the 2017 Conference:

Barry Eidlin, Department of Sociology, McGill University

Don Lafreniere, Department of Social Sciences, Michigan Tech University

Mary Louise Nagata, Department of History, Francis Marion University


Public submissions for SSHA's 2017 conference have closed.

Download Call for Papers

2017 Conference Submissions

Application for Student Travel Grant


SSHA accepting submissions in French for 2017

E-mail Print PDF

In recognition of Canada's policy of official bilingualism, SSHA will accept paper presentations in either English or French for our meeting in Montreal. Sessions may be monolingual English, monolingual French, or bilingual English/French. Session organizers must clearly indicate which language(s) will be spoken at their session, and paper submitters must indicate if their paper will be delivered in French. All paper abstracts must be submitted with an English version, regardless of the language in which the paper will be presented. Please contact the Program Committee co-chair Barry Eidlin ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) with any questions regarding conference language policies.

Call for Papers

Last Updated on Tuesday, 17 January 2017 21:37

2016 Allan Sharlin Memorial Award Winners

E-mail Print PDF
A $1,000 prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book in social science history to honor the memory of Allan Sharlin. Allen exemplified the finest traditions of social science history. His training and scholarship were broadly interdisciplinary and he used both quantitative and more traditional methodologies.  Books published in the previous year are eligible for consideration.

2016 Winners:  Alan L. Olmstead and Paul W. Rhode

Book:  Arresting Contagion: Science, Policy, and Conflicts over Animal Disease Control (Harvard University Press)



The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!