• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Award Winners
Latest Award Winners

2016 President’s Book Award Winner

Print PDF

A $1000 prize is awarded annually for a meritorious first work by an early-career scholar. Entrants are judged on scholarly significance, interdisciplinary reach, and methodological innovativeness within monographs analyzing past structures and events and change over time. Books with a copyright date of the previous year that are published within eight years of the author's Ph.D. are eligible for consideration.

2016 Winner:  Jonathan Wyrtzen

Book:  Making Morocco: Colonial Intervention and the Politics of Identity (Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2015)


2016 Allan Sharlin Memorial Award Winners

Print PDF
A $1,000 prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book in social science history to honor the memory of Allan Sharlin. Allen exemplified the finest traditions of social science history. His training and scholarship were broadly interdisciplinary and he used both quantitative and more traditional methodologies.  Books published in the previous year are eligible for consideration.

2016 Winners:  Alan L. Olmstead and Paul W. Rhode

Book:  Arresting Contagion: Science, Policy, and Conflicts over Animal Disease Control (Harvard University Press)


SSHA Announces Founders Prize and Other Awards

Print PDF

Read these award-winning articles and more at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/social-science-history

Founders Prize Winners

  • 2015 Founder’s Prize: Rebecca Jean Emigh, Dylan Riley, Patricia Ahmed, “The Racialization of Legal Categories in the First U.S. Census"
  • 2014 Founder’s Prize: Andrew Walder, “Rebellion and Repression in China, 1966-1971"

Graduate Student Paper Prize Winners

  • 2015 SSHA Graduate Student Paper Prize, Francisco J. Beltrán Tapia, “Goths and Vandals” or “Civilized” Farmers?: Common Lands and Agricultural Productivity in Early-Twentieth-Century Spain”
  • 2014 SSHA Graduate Student Paper Prize, Peter B. Owens, “The Collective Dynamics of Genocidal Violence in Cambodia, 1975–1979”


The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!